My Ride

Are you OK?  Are you happy? Questions I’m most often asked by my parents, relatives, friends and even my daughters would pose that question during our weekly phone calls…Something that would often leave my mind blank for a split second before it goes into a reeling frenzy of reasons why I shouldn’t be OK or be happy? In the aftermath of what had happened to me, people understandably assume I spend my days in loneliness.

Someone once said, “There are things that we don’t want to happen but have to accept, things we don’t want to know but have to learn, and people we can’t live without but have to let go.” 

Happiness is truly what we make it.  With all the fascinating attractions, mesmerizing media it’s easy to forget that the pursuit of creating a “perfect family” is not what life is all about.  

 It would explain why my Father allows sorrow, pain, disappointments, unfair circumstances and some unanswered prayers to color my life. 

 But that is not the end of the story for me.  I’m not completely happy because I’m not supposed to be.  I’m not supposed to feel comfortable and totally at ease with my stay here.  This is not my final home and there’s no reason for me to feel too attached with all these.  Although my ride may get bumpy at times, but I’ll simply make the most of the time He has given me. 

So why should I waste my time and energy chasing on temporal things?  Do I need to put so much importance on things to pass?  Still, I’m thankful for the grace my Father has given me, wonderful daughters, someone to love, caring family and good friends.

Now, when you ask me – if I’m happy?  My response to that: “Not entirely, I have my moments…and I thank God for each and every experience.” 

That’s how I want to live the remainder of my life, using all I have, and enjoying the journey that God has allotted me.

How about you?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

