81-Confused-Blue-Smiley-Free-3D-Vector-Clipart-IllustrationEveryone gets the blues from time to time. The past few days were especially difficult, Bangkok Metropolis was wrapped in this gloomy spell.  The clouds are low, hideous traffic and of course the non-stop rain.  As a single mom living far from my kids, occasional down days have become part of my life here.

The good news is despite of my occasional bouts of sadness, I have (so far) never resort to any medication to combat the blues.  I can safely say by now, “I know” me well enough that I can’t simply pep-talk myself to “snap out of it”.  Yet, whenever, I’m entering that dark place I would immediately adopt some simple changes in my daily routine that can naturally boost my mood.

I’m thinking it’ll be nice to share my cost-free mood boosters:

Write It Down – I guess this is very simple, as getting my feelings out, at the same time it provides me the insight of what I feel at that particular moment; it also clues me in how to let go of the inner demons that’s eating me inside out.  I do this continuously, on regular intervals during the bout or until I feel better about myself again.

Get Moving – I’m the type who exercise sporadically…or whenever I feel like it.  But whenever I’m feeling blue I make sure to indulge in some vigorous jumping around.  I’m not exactly sure why, but I can only speculate that with the blood pumping somehow, it improves blood flow to the brain.  Yes, the brain where I need it most!

Mini-shopping – This works all the time with me.  I’m not saying it has to be a big spending that will place a huge dent in my budget.  But rather, indulge in small items that I love.  Since I’m the kind of person who loves trinkets, I’ll buy few items here and there, for myself and the girls.  It’s something that always brings smile back to my face (even for a little while).  Then of course, shopping will never be complete without getting a new pair of shoes.  Although I have the tendency to get the most impractical shoes – in a sense that I won’t be able to wear it for work.  Still, it makes me feel good about myself and boosts the mood.

Ice-cream, Chocolate & Nuts – To those really close to me, they know I do not eat these on “normal” days.  It has nothing to do with diet, I promise you! It’s just that I’m not fond of them…but whenever I feel down, they’re my best-friends!

And this one takes a lot of effort, Think Positively – even during my down times, I try to force myself to think of all those things I appreciate in life my girls, work, my parents, my friends, and those who love me still despite being such a bitch sometimes.

Reach Out – this is by far my least favorite, often when I’m down I have the tendency to avoid people.  I pull away even from those closest to me.  But time and time again, it has proved that reaching out to someone is a fast-sure way to combat those blues.

So there, those are my personal cost-free blues busters.  Have you got some of your own?   Don’t forget to share ;)!

