To my angel cake….mostly reserved and very perceptive eldest daughter, Katie….

As you celebrate your birthday, I would like to take this moment to sit down, reflect and thank God for His gift.

You are truly every mother’s dream daughter and I can’t even begin to imagine what I have done to deserve you.

Another milestone my darling, it seems like yesterday when I first laid eyes on you.  When I had you, I was daunted with how much I had to teach you…never realizing that you will teach me just as much.

You’ve taught me acceptance, forgiveness and unconditional love.  Remember, when one of your friends asked if you ever feel lonely without your daddy?  Your reply “No, because I know he loves us in his own way.  I’m OK with it.”

Your innocent response, held wisdom beyond my 38 years!  Many times, as your mother, I’m second guessing myself – if I’m doing it right.  Then, when I look at you and your sister, I realize there is this huge part of my life that I’m actually doing unbelievably good.

There is nothing more overwhelming than the pride that fills me whenever you accomplished something, completed another project, mastered another skill.  I always admire your determination….once you’ve set your heart and mind to it…you never stop my darling, until you’ve finished it.

You fill me with so much love and joy that it brings me to my knees when I imagine you growing up, and soon become independent. Nonetheless, I continue to marvel over God’s precious and wonderful gift to me.

I understand that you won’t be my little angel cake forever…but while your hand still fits in mine and you still call me Mommy, I will relish every second of our journey together.

And though, there will come a time when it feels like you don’t need mommy to do things for you, I hope you know that there are things (still) that only mommy can help 😉 because you will always be my little girl, my precious wonderful firstborn.

I love you, and happy 11th anak.

