Things I’ve learned when I moved to Phuket

I always have a bit of that nomadic spirit in me.  Which means I’m always open to the possibility of moving around….leaving places and start “camp” somewhere new.

You see, I’ve made Bangkok “home” for quite sometime now.  But after a decade long of living in the Metro, I feel a bit burned out.  I began to hate my job.  The job that I used to love so much, became hellish.  I hate seeing certain people, hate my daily train commute…..hating myself for being so negative.

To keep the story short, last September I was offered a job in the southern part of Thailand.  The next step is quite obvious, and not to mention that it was an easy decision!

Quit my job, packed my bags and moved from the city to an island.

As exciting as it may sound, but when the reality of moving to a new place, where I know only two people started to set in,  I cried myself to sleep.

I would safely say, it was exciting and perplexing at the same time but I have to be honest that my first 2-weeks was just horrible.  And the funny thing that it has nothing to do with the new job.  The job itself is everything that I ever wanted.

The reason for my dismay was actually very trivial….. believe it or not, it was the weather.  It was SO depressing, that it rained non-stop for the entire 2-weeks.

I began to feel a bit antsy….

…I miss my, train commute, the occasional after work drop by at Siam Square, the impromptu dinner meet ups with friends and the COFFEE.

However, those feelings were temporary….I guess what I’m saying, is that my move to Phuket taught me to be positive.  I think it would be nice to share how I learned to stay positive when you’re feeling  isolated and alone.

  1. I learn to recognize when I’m not being positive.  I would like to point this out first, simply because self-awareness is vital.  I know me, well enough by now that I can identify when the signs of negativity starts to seep in.  The key is make positivity a choice.
  2. I learn to go out more.  I’m the type of person whose comfort zone is being alone.  But here, I’ve learned to go out, join lunch groups and just embrace the warmth of the locals.
  3. I learn to be patient.

In the end, it’s all about the  choices you make on a daily basis.  If you choose to be miserable, feeling sorry for yourself or determined to wake up every morning with that smile (fake or genuine) plastered on your face and get on with your day.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Things I’ve learned when I moved to Phuket

  1. AM January 6, 2016 at 3:30 pm Reply

    Very well said, ‘the sister I never had”😊!

Leave a Reply

