How to doodle like a boss that you are :)

Calling more doodlers!

 

text-1318200_640

Late last year, coloring books for adults became something of a trend.  And honestly, I dabbled with it – but after 2 unfinished pages, I gave up.  While, indeed it was relaxing and promised to be a stress-buster…it’s really not for me.

There’s something constricting with the fact that I have to keep my colors within the lines and not to mention instead of de-stressing me,  it was the opposite!

It annoys and stresses me by trying to keep my color strokes in one direction!

And yes, it nearly drove me nuts – why I do have to keep my colors so neat and tidy?

stick-man-892287_640

Perhaps it’s the “artistic” rebellion in me, or I’m more of a “doodler”.

Doodling feels more spontaneous, speaking from professional work experience doodling help me figure out complex concepts time and time again….

thinking-outside-the-box-33399_640

…..on a personal level somehow it makes emotions appear genuine.

flower-151829_640

Mind you, I’m far from an artist that you probably envision…. my doodling skills are generally limited to stick figures, straight lines, circles, globs, and tons of squiggly lines.

But, I don’t care.  It relaxes me and it’s a great way to pass time, where I simply let my hand do the thinking.

boy-1298788_640

If you would like to give doodling a try, here’s how to start doodling like a boss that you are!

  1. Keep your tools on hand.  You need to be prepared to doodle, anywhere.  Inspiration and boredom are really sneaky – they can strike anytime!  You need to be prepared.
  1. Don’t stress yourself of making your doodles perfect. That’s the beauty of it.  Who cares if you can only draw stick figures, and lines?  Just doodle.
  2. Be free. Draw whatever you want, you don’t have to restrict yourself with a theme or concept.  Pshesh! No one is judging you – and it’s more likely no one will even see your work of art.

My supplies are pretty basic – notebook, my favorite fountain pen (a gift from mother 🙂 ) – pencil, rubber, and highlighter.  While some of my more artistic friends do carry around pastels, charcoal and color pencils.  I just don’t feel the need to be that ambitious with my tools.

So there, I hope this inspired  you (even a bit) that doodling is a great way to express your ideas, and of course yourself!

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

